OUR HISTORY

Established in 1916

Brush Bowls Club is one of the oldest members of the Leicestershire Bowling Association and has a long and illustrious history. In its’ time the club has won all the major County Competitions and represented Leicestershire in the English Bowling Championship in London. 

The Club itself was formed in 1916 by bowlers who worked at the Brush Works and played its first competitive match in 1919. The Club moved to a new sports ground in 1971 where it still remains. Various sporting activities accompanied the official opening of the ground in June 1971 by Jimmy Hill, Head of Sport, London Weekend Television. 

Brush Bowls Club has a rich history for the all the members to build on and the Management Committee are committed to moving the Club forward in an expansive and dynamic way to make us the ‘go to Club’ in the area.

Brush Bowls celebrated its Centenary in 2016. To mark this milestone a Centenary match was played against Bowls England. There were other celebratory matches involving Leicestershire Bowls, local clubs and a rather prestigious match against the Royal Household, at Windsor.